The final submissions – hand rendered low poly bear

It’s been a long 4 weeks of intense work, but it was more than worth it. To now have the ability to say I have produce a collection of work that I am proud of. When I started this journey as a self taught artist, I never thought this day would come.

As well as this major achievement, my next big thing is I’ve finally put up a project on Behance too, which you can check out here if you’d like. http://be.net/vicky_farrand

The illustration below is called ‘Young and Foolish’ and is the first illustration of the series called The Unexpected. The series consists of six pieces in total including three hand-rendered pointillism illustrations and three 3D printed statues.

The Unexpected is the first of many artist collaborations from my artist network ‘The Collective Conscious’.

The concept

Each pointillism illustration started life as a low poly 3D render built in Cinema 4D by my fellow artist, and partner, Thomas Wood. I will put up another post soon showing the 3D renders.

Each bear and wolf, was then broken down in to wireframes and printed for me to draw. Once I got a sketch of the wireframes onto paper, the next stage was to distinguish form and tone with millions of tiny dots, as you can see below.

This piece called ‘Young and Foolish’ is on Bristol board and took about 32hours to render with Pigma Micron Pens made by Sakura.

1. Young and Foolish, 10in x 8in, $150

2.Young and Foolish, 10in x 8in, $150

3. Young and Foolish, 10in x 8in, $150

4.Young and Foolish, 10in x 8in, $150

Leave a Reply

